The NVC divides communities broadly acccording to habitat, using a letter shorthand to indicate the general habitat type:

A = water, CG = calcareous grassland, H = heath, M = mire, MC = maritime cliff, MG = mesotrophic grassland (moderately fertile soil), OV = open vegetation, S = swamp, SD = sand dune, SM = salt marsh, U = upland and W = wood.

There are 286 communities that are listed here. Sub-communities have not been included.

National Vegetation Classification. JNCC 2018.

The communities or the codes can be used to search for lists of component plants in the 'Plant Associations' below.